Does your Macbook Pro feel a little old? Are there trivial issues that you are unable to resolve even after several troubleshooting attempts? Or do you just want to upgrade to a newer machine and give away the current machine? For all of the above, you will need to erase all personal data from the device. The easiest way to wipe your device is to do a factory reset. But before you start, make sure you’ve backed up your data and signed out of all your accounts. Here is a step by step guide to reset your MacBook Pro.

How to Reset a Running MacBook macOS Monterey?
Factory reset one MacThe book has not always been an easy affair. But since the launch of macOS Monterey in 2021, the process has become easier. If you have macOS Monterey and your Mac is equipped with the latest silicon chipsets (M1, M1 Pro or M1 Max) or Apple

The T2 security chip that comes with 2017 and later Intel models, this is the process you will need to follow for a factory reset.

  • Click the Apple icon in the upper left corner of your menu bar.
  • Open System Preferences from the drop-down menu.
  • Select Erase All Content and Settings.
  • Enter your password, select OK, and then follow the prompts.
  • Your Mac will probably be to restart several times now. Do not interact with the computer in any way and let the task complete. Once done, you will see the Hello screen. Your MacBook has been factory reset and its operating system will remain the same as before.
  • The process will look like this:

How to Reset Running MacBook macOS Big Sur or older?

  • If you have a MacBook with an older version of macOS, you have two options. Update the OS to Monterey and follow the above process. Or you can follow the steps below.
  • Restart your device. Hold down the Power button for a few seconds and select Restart when it flashes on the screen.
  • While the computer is restarting, hold down the Command and R keys.
  • Release the Command and R keys as soon as you see the Apple logo.
  • Select Disk Utility from the Recovery Mode menu.
  • It’s important to make sure your startup disk is highlighted with Macintosh HD before you select the Erase tab in Disk Utility. Select Clear.
  • A pop window will appear. Change format to macOS extended (Journaled)
  • Select Erase again.
  • Now click on the Quit Disk Utility option from the Disk Utilities menu.
  • You will get a new option in the window to reinstall macOS; select Install macOS and you’re done.

Last words
Wasn’t it easy to factory reset your MacBook Pro? You just need to remember two things: 1. Back up all your data; and 2. Log out of all your accounts.

FacebookTwitterLinkedIn


Previous

India's Garuda Aerospace to set up Malaysia's first international drone factory

Next

McIntosh Labs Binghamton Factory plans to add dozens of workers

Check Also